Academic Senate Regular Meeting Minutes

via Zoom

March 3, 2022

2:30 - 4:30pm

Committee Attendance			
~	Abeje Ambaw, Life Sciences	~	Jacque Evans, Access Resource Center
~	Adria Gerard, President	~	Jeannie Kim-McPherson, Humanities
~	Alan Durst, Creative Arts	~	Jennifer Taylor, Resource
	Blake Spiering, Kinesiology	~	John Cristobal, Physical Sciences
	Dawn Rae Davis, Social Science	~	Kacey Giammanco, At-Large
~	Elizabeth Gonzales, Student Services	~	Lynn Kragelund, Nursing
~	Frank Rivera, At-Large, Vice President, ASCCC Representative	~	Molly Jansen, Career Education, Committees Chair
~	Glenn Tozier, Library	~	Sunny LeMoine, At-Large Adjunct
	Heather Bowers, TRIO	1	Noor Benny, ASMPC Student Representative
~	Jackson Hsu, At-Large, Secretary		
Guests			
Clara Sanchez Sulca, faculty		Linda Hucks, Director of TASC	
David Betts, CHRO		Margaret Fernandez, Dean of CTE	
Erin Gamble, faculty		Mark Zacovic, Superintendent/President	
Florence Gilliam, staff		Rosaleen Ryan, Dean of PRIE	
Lauren Blanchard, faculty		Rowan Austin, staff	
Lillian Gorham, staff			

Academic Senate Annual Goals 2021-22

- I. Opening Business
 - A. Welcome and Introductions
 - B. Public Comments
 - C. Approval of Minutes: February 17, 2022
 - 1. Approved with revision to the voting record of item IIC.
 - D. Approval of the Agenda
 - 1. Approved without revision.
 - E. Reports
 - 1. Academic Senate President (Adria Gerard)
 - 2. Committees Chair (Molly Jansen)
 - a) Academic Senate needs representatives for the following committees:
 - b) PAG Volunteers: Alethea DeSoto
 - (1) Vote tabled until next meeting
 - c) Academic Council Volunteers: Davina Walker
 - (1) Vote tabled until next meeting
 - d) Faculty Mentoring Volunteers: Bruce Barry, Mel Cardinale, Princess Gilbert, Daniel Lopez
 - (1) Motion to approve: Lynn Kragelund
 - (2) Second: Frank Rivera
 - (3) Vote: Approved
 - (a) Yaes: Abeje Ambaw, Alan Durst, Frank Rivera, Lynn Kragelund, Glenn Tozier, Jeannie Kim-McPherson, Molly Jansen, Jackson Hsu, John Cristobal, Elizabeth Gonzales,

Academic Senate Regular Meeting Minutes

- Jacque Evans, Kacey Giammanco, Sunny LeMoine, Noor Benny
- (b) Naes: N/A
- (c) Absent: Blake Spiering, Dawn Rae Davis, Heather Bowers
- e) Director of SOAR Hiring Committee Volunteers: Grace Anongchanya, Yuliana Vasquez:
 - (1) Motion to approve: Jacque Evans
 - (2) Second: John Cristobal
 - (3) Vote: Approved
 - (a) Yaes: Noor Benny, Sunny LeMoine, Kacey Giammanco, Jacque Evans, Elizabeth Gonzales, John Cristobal, Jackson Hsu, Molly Jansen, Jeannie Kim-McPherson, Glenn Tozier, Lynn Kragelund, Frank Rivera, Abeje Ambaw
 - (b) Naes: N/A
 - (c) Absent: Alan Durst, Blake Spiering, Dawn Rae Davis, Heather Bowers
- f) Dean of Athletics Hiring Committee Volunteers: Kacey Giammanco, Erin O'Hare, Daniel Philips:
 - (1) Motion to approve: Jeannie Kim-McPherson
 - (2) Second: Frank Rivera
 - (3) Vote: Approved
 - (a) Yaes: Lynn Kragelund, Glenn Tozier, Jeannie Kim-McPherson, Molly Jansen, Jackson Hsu, John Cristobal, Elizabeth Gonzales, Jacque Evans, Sunny LeMoine, Noor Benny, Abeje Ambaw, Frank Rivera
 - (b) Naes: N/A
 - (c) Abstain: Kacey Giammanco
 - (d) Absent: Alan Durst, Blake Spiering, Dawn Rae Davis, Heather Bowers
- II. Unfinished Business
 - A. ACTION: MPC Academic Senate Resolution: Continuation of Virtual Meetings (Adria Gerard, Academic Senate President) Goal 5
 - 1. Motion to approve: Molly Jansen
 - 2. Second: Jackson Hsu
 - 3. Vote: Approved
 - a) Yaes: John Cristobal, Elizabeth Gonzales, Jacque Evans, Kacey Giammanco, Sunny LeMoine, Noor Benny, Jackson Hsu, Molly Jansen, Jeannie Kim-McPherson, Glenn Tozier, Lynn Kragelund, Frank Rivera
 - b) Naes: N/A
 - c) Absent: Abeje Ambaw, Alan Durst, Blake Spiering, Dawn Rae Davis, Heather Bowers
 - B. ACTION: AB 705 Improvement Plan (Jon Knolle, VP Academic Affairs; Adria Gerard, Academic Senate President) Goal 1
 - 1. AB 705 Improvement Plan Presentation
 - 2. Equitable Placement and Completion: English/Math Validation of Practices and Improvement Plans (pdf)
 - 3. AB 705 Improvement Plan (blank document, for reference only)
 - a) Item tabled until the next meeting
 - b) Motion to have a special meeting at March 10, 2022 at the normal time and location for this agenda item: Molly Jansen
 - c) Second: Lynn Kragelund
 - d) Vote: Approved

Academic Senate Regular Meeting Minutes

- (1) Yaes: Frank Rivera, Lynn Kragelund, Glenn, Tozier, Jeannie Kim-McPherson, Molly Jansen, Jackson Hsu, John Cristobal, Elizabeth Gonzales, Jackie Evans, Kacey Giammanco, Sunny LeMoine, Noor Benny
- (2) Naes: N/A
- (3) Absent: Abeje Ambaw, Alan Durst, Blake Spiering, Dawn Rae Davis, Heather Bowers
- III. New Business
 - A. DISCUSSION: MPC Institutional Set Standards (Rosaleen Ryan, Dean of Planning, Research, and Institutional Effectiveness) Goal 1
 - B. INFORMATION: Academic Senate Officer Elections 2022-23 (Adria Gerard, Academic Senate President)
 - 1. Elections for all positions except President will be held at the March 17, 2022 meeting. Adria is accepting nominations.
- IV. Recap and Adjourn
 - A. Meeting adjourned at 3:56 pm