Academic Senate Regular Meeting Minutes

via Zoom **February 3, 2022** 2:30 - 4:30pm

Committee Attendance			
	Abeje Ambaw, Life Sciences	~	Jacque Evans, Access Resource Center
~	Adria Gerard, President	~	Jeannie Kim-McPherson, Humanities
~	Alan Durst, Creative Arts	~	Jennifer Taylor, Resource
	Blake Spiering, Kinesiology	~	John Cristobal, Physical Sciences
~	Dawn Rae Davis, Social Science	~	Kacey Giammanco, At-Large
~	Elizabeth Gonzales, Student Services	~	Lynn Kragelund, Nursing
~	Frank Rivera, At-Large, Vice President, ASCCC Representative	~	Molly Jansen, Career Education, Committees Chair
~	Glenn Tozier, Library	~	Sunny LeMoine, At-Large Adjunct
~	Heather Bowers, TRIO	~	Noor Benny, ASMPC Student Representative
~	Jackson Hsu, At-Large, Secretary		
Guests			
~	Clara Sanchez Sulca, faculty	~	Margaret Fernandez, Associate Dean of CTE
~	David Betts, CHRO	~	Mark Zacovic, President/Superintendent
~	Florence Gilliam, staff	~	Rosaleen Ryan, Dean of PRIE
~	Gina Bianchi, staff	~	Vincent Van Joolen, Dean of STEM
~	Jon Knolle, VPAA		

Academic Senate Annual Goals 2021-22

- I. I. Opening Business
 - A. Welcome and Introductions
 - B. Public Comments
 - C. Approval of Minutes: December 2, 2021
 - 1. Approved without revision.
 - D. Approval of the Agenda
 - 1. Approved without revision.
 - E. Reports
 - 1. Interim Superintendent/President (Dr. Mark Zacovic)
 - 2. Academic Senate President (Adria Gerard)
 - a) <u>Faculty Committee Needs</u> Senators are asked to spread the committee, senate, and CAP completion team availabilities broadly with their divisions.
 - 3. Committees Chair (Molly Jansen)

II. II. Unfinished Business

- A. ACTION: MPC Academic Senate Resolution: Continuation of Virtual Meetings (Adria Gerard, Academic Senate President) Goal 5
 - 1. Motion to approve: Lynn Kragelund
 - 2. Second: Sunny LeMoine
 - 3. Vote: Motion approved.
 - a) Yaes: Alan Durst, Dawn Rae Davis, Frank Rivera, Lynn Kragelund, Glenn Tozier, Jeannie Kim-McPherson, Molly Jansen, Jackson Hsu, John Cristobal, Elizabeth Gonzales, Jacque Evans, Heather Bowers, Kacey Giammanco, Sunny LeMoine, Noor Benny

Academic Senate Regular Meeting Minutes

- b) Naes: None
- c) Absent: Abeje Ambaw, Blake Spiering
- III. III. New Business
 - A. INFORMATION: Faculty and Staff Advancement Awards Update (Gina Bianchi, Director of Development: MPC Foundation)
 - B. INFORMATION: Guide Pathways Update/Career and Academic Pathways (CAP)
 Completion Teams (Jeannie Kim-McPherson, Guided Pathways Coordinator) Goals 1 and 4
 1. CAP Completion Teams Flyer Spring 2022
 - C. 1ST READ: Guided Pathways Scale of Adoption Self-Assessment (SOAA) (Jeannie Kim-McPherson, Guided Pathways Coordinator) Goals 1 and 4
 - D. 1ST READ: AS Resolution in Support of Reproductive Freedom (Adria Gerard, AS President) Goal 1
 - 1. AS Resolution in Support of Reproductive Freedom (pdf)
 - E. 1ST READ: AP 4104 Contract Education (Jon Knolle, VP of Academic Affairs)
 - 1. Motion to approve: Molly Jansen
 - 2. Second: Jeannie Kim-McPherson
 - 3. Vote: Motion approved.
 - a) Yeas: Sunny LeMoine, Kacey Giammanco, Heather Bowers, Jacque Evans, Elizabeth Gonzales, John Cristobal, Jackson Hsu, Molly Jansen, Jeannie Kim, Glenn Tozier, Lynn Kragelund, Frank Rivera, Dawn Rae Davis, Alan Durst
 - b) Naes: None
 - c) Absent: Abeje Ambaw, Blake Spiering, Noor Benny
 - F. 1ST READ: AP 4260 Prerequisites and Corequisites (Jon Knolle, VP of Academic Affairs)
 - G. 1ST READ: AP 4300 Field Trips and Excursions (Jon Knolle, VP of Academic Affairs)
 - H. 1ST READ: AP 4610 Instructional Service Agreements (Jon Knolle, VP of Academic Affairs)
 - 1. Motion to approve: Jacque Evans
 - 2. Second: Molly Jansen
 - 3. Vote: Motion approved.
 - a) Yeas: Glenn Tozier, Jeannie Kim-McPherson, Molly Jansen, John Cristobal, Jackson Hsu, Elizabeth Gonzales, Jacque Evans, Heather Bowers, Kacey Giammanco, Sunny LeMoine, Alan Durst, Dawn Rae Davis
 - b) Naes: None
 - c) Absent: Abeje Ambaw, Blake Spiering, Frank Rivera, Lynn Kragelund, Noor Benny

Meeting adjourned at: 4:05