## **Academic Senate Regular Meeting Minutes**

#### via Zoom

### **December 2, 2021**

2:30 - 4:30pm

Committee Attendance			
~	Abeje Ambaw, Life Sciences	~	Jacque Evans, Access Resource Center
~	Adria Gerard, President		Jeannie Kim-McPherson, Humanities
	Alan Durst, Creative Arts	1	Jennifer Taylor, Resource
	Blake Spiering, Kinesiology		John Cristobal, Physical Sciences
~	Dawn Rae Davis, Social Science	>	Kacey Giammanco, At-Large
~	Elizabeth Gonzales, Student Services	~	Lynn Kragelund, Nursing
	Frank Rivera, At-Large, Vice President, ASCCC Representative	>	Molly Jansen, Career Education, Committees Chair
~	Glenn Tozier, Library	>	Sunny LeMoine, At-Large Adjunct
~	Heather Bowers, TRIO	>	Noor Benny, ASMPC Student Representative
~	Jackson Hsu, At-Large, Secretary		
Guests			
~	Anthony Villarreal, faculty	>	Jeff Sundquist, Dean of LLROE
~	David Betts, CHRO	>	Lindsay Peelman, faculty
~	Erin Gamble, faculty	~	Rosaleen Ryan, Dean of PRIE

#### Academic Senate Annual Goals 2021-22

- I. I. Opening Business
  - A. Welcome and Introductions
  - B. Public Comments
    - 1. Adria will draft a resolution in support of reproductive rights and include Dawn Rae's concerns in her December Board Report.
  - C. Approval of Minutes: November 18, 2021
    - 1. Approved without revision.
  - D. Approval of the Agenda
    - 1. Proposed revision: Move item 2C to 2A and Item 3B to 3a
    - 2. Approved with revisions.
  - E. Reports
    - 1. Acting Superintendent/President (Jon Knolle)
    - 2. Academic Senate President (Adria Gerard)
      - a) Academic Senate will be moving to BoardDocs in Spring 2022.
- II. II. Unfinished Business
  - A. 2ND READ/APPROVAL: Spring 2022 Flex Days Schedule (Anthony Villarreal, Flex Committee Chair)
    - Motion to endorse the Spring 2022 Flex Schedule pending final revisions: Molly Jansen
    - 2. Second: Dawn Rae Davis
    - 3. Vote: Approved
      - a) Yeas: Abeje Ambaw, Dawn Rae Davis, Lynn Kragelund, Glenn Tozier, Molly Jansen, Jackson Hsu, Elizabeth Gonzales, Jacque Evans, Heather Bowers, Kacey Giammanco, Sunny LeMoine, Noor Benny

## **Academic Senate Regular Meeting Minutes**

- b) Naes: N/A
- c) Absent: Alan Durst, Blake Spiering, Frank Rivera, Jeannie Kim-McPherson, John Cristobal
- B. ACTION: MPC Academic Senate Resolution: Continuation of Virtual Meetings (Adria Gerard, Academic Senate President) Goal 5
  - 1. Motion to approve: Jacque Evans
  - 2. Second: Lynn Kragelund
  - 3. Vote: Approved
    - a) Yeas: Noor Benny, Sunny LeMoine, Kacey Giammanco, Heather Bowers, Jacque Evans, Elizabeth Gonzales, Jackson Hsu, Molly Jansen, Glenn Tozier, Lynn Kragelund, Dawn Rae Davis, Abeje Ambaw
    - b) Naes: N/A
    - c) Absent: Alan Durst, Blake Spiering, Frank Rivera, Jeannie Kim-McPherson, John Cristobal
- C. 2ND READ/APPROVAL: Teaching and Learning Committee DRAFT Charge and Membership (Adria Gerard, Academic Senate President) Goal 4
  - 1. DRAFT TLC Charge and Membership
  - 2. Teaching and Learning Committee Presentation
    - a) Motion to approve: Glenn Tozier
    - b) Second: Molly Jansen
    - c) Vote: Approved
      - (1) Yeas:Abeje Ambaw, Dawn Rae Davis, Lynn Kragelund, Glenn Tozier, Molly Jansen, Jackson Hsu, Jacque Evans, Heather Bowers, Kacey Giammanco, Sunny LeMoine, Noor Benny, Elizabeth Gonzales
      - (2) Naes: N/A
      - (3) Absent: Alan Durst, Blake Spiering, Frank Rivera, Jeannie Kim-McPherson, John Cristobal
- D. D. 2ND READ/APPROVAL: Massage Therapy Program Discontinuance Recommendation (Jeff Sundquist, Dean of Library, Learning Support, and Online Education)
  - 1. Massage Therapy Program Recommendation
  - 2. Massage Therapy Program Review
    - a) Motion to approve the discontinuance of the Mass: Jacque Evans
    - b) Second: Molly Jansen
    - c) Vote: Approved
      - (1) Yeas: Lynn Kragelund, Glenn Tozier, Molly Jansen, Elizabeth Gonzales, Jacque Evans, Heather Bowers, Kacey Giammanco, Sunny LeMoine, Noor Benny, Alan Durst
      - (2) Naes: Dawn Rae Davis
      - (3) Absent: Alan Durst, Blake Spiering, Frank Rivera, Jeannie Kim-McPherson, John Cristobal
      - (4) Abstention: Jackson Hsu, Abeje Ambaw
- III. New Business
  - A. INFORMATION: Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, and Antiracism (IDEA) Task Force Update and Recommendations (Dawn Rae Davis and Lindsay Peelman, IDEA Task Force Members) Goal
    - 1. IDEA Presentation Slides
  - B. INFORMATION: MPC Tagline Recommendation (Beccie Michael, VP of Advancement; Kristin Darken, Marketing Director)
    - 1. Tagline Presentation Slides
  - C. 1ST READ: Administrative Procedures (Jon Knolle, VPAA and Acting Superintendent/President)
    - 1. TABLED
      - a) AP 4104 Contract Education

# **Academic Senate Regular Meeting Minutes**

- b) AP 4260 Prerequisites and Corequisites
- c) AP 4300 Field Trips and Excursions
- d) AP 4610 Instructional Service Agreements

Meeting adjourned at: 4:05 pm