# **Academic Senate Regular Meeting Minutes**

# via Zoom

## November 18, 2021

2:30 - 4:30pm

Committee Attendance			
~	Abeje Ambaw, Life Sciences	~	Jacque Evans, Access Resource Center
~	Adria Gerard, President	~	Jeannie Kim-McPherson, Humanities
~	Alan Durst, Creative Arts	/	Jennifer Taylor, Resource
	Blake Spiering, Kinesiology	>	John Cristobal, Physical Sciences
~	Dawn Rae Davis, Social Science	>	Kacey Giammanco, At-Large
~	Elizabeth Gonzales, Student Services	~	Lynn Kragelund, Nursing
~	Frank Rivera, At-Large, Vice President, ASCCC Representative	>	Molly Jansen, Career Education, Committees Chair
~	Glenn Tozier, Library		Sunny LeMoine, At-Large Adjunct
	Heather Bowers, TRIO	>	Noor Benny, ASMPC Student Representative
~	Jackson Hsu, At-Large, Secretary		
Guests			
~	Ana Garcia-Garcia, Faculty	>	Jon Knolle, Acting President/Superintendent, VPAA
~	Anthony Villarreal, Faculty	>	Larry Walker, VPSS
~	David Betts, CHRO	/	Rosaleen Ryan, Dean of PRIE
~	Erin Gamble, Faculty	>	Tuyen Nguyen, Faculty
~	Jeff Sundquist, Dean of LLROE	/	Vincent Van Joolen, Dean of STEM

# Academic Senate Annual Goals 2021-22

- I. Opening Business
  - A. Welcome and Introductions
  - B. Public Comments
  - C. Approval of Minutes:
    - 1. November 4, 2021
    - 2. November 12, 2021
    - 3. Both sets of minutes approved without revision.
  - D. Approval of the Agenda
    - 1. Agenda approved without revision.
  - E. Reports
    - 1. Acting Superintendent/President (Jon Knolle)
    - 2. Academic Senate President (Adria Gerard)
    - 3. Committees Chair (Molly Jansen)
      - a) Faculty recommendations to the Learning Skills faculty hiring committee:
        - (1) Alexis Copeland
        - (2) Jacque Evans
        - (3) Ana Garcia-Garcia
        - (4) Jamie Gerard
        - (5) Tuyen Nguyen
        - (6) Annette Oswald
        - (7) Kathleen Rozman
      - b) Motion to approve the recommendations: Frank Rivera
      - c) Second: Kacey Giammanco
      - d) Vote: Approve

## **Academic Senate Regular Meeting Minutes**

- (1) Yeas: Abeje Ambaw, Alan Durst, Dawn Rae Davis, Lynn Kragelund, Glenn Tozier, Jeannie Kim-McPherson, Molly Jansen, Jackson Hsu, John Cristobal, Elizabeth Gonzales, Jacque Evans, Kacey Giammanco, Noor Benny
- (2) Naes: None
- (3) Absent: Blake Spiering, Heather Bowers, Sunny LeMoine
- 4. ASCCC Representative (Frank Rivera)
  - a) ASCCC Fall 2021 Resolutions Page
- II. Unfinished Business
  - A. 1ST READ: DRAFT--Teaching and Learning Committee (TLC) Charge and Membership (Adria Gerard, Academic Senate President) Goal 4
    - 1. DRAFT TLC Charge and Membership
    - 2. Teaching and Learning Committee Presentation
- III. New Business
  - A. A. INFORMATION: STEM/HSI Grant Update (Vincent Van Joolen, Dean of STEM) Goal 1
  - B. B. 1ST READ: Massage Therapy Program Discontinuance Recommendation (Jeff Sundquist, Dean of Library, Learning Support, and Online Education)
    - 1. Massage Therapy Program Recommendation
    - 2. Massage Therapy Program Review
      - a) Motion to approve the recommendation to discontinue the Massage Therapy Program: Molly Jansen
      - b) Second: No second
      - c) The Senate will review the information provided and return to the recommendation at the next meeting.
  - C. C. 1ST READ: Flex Days Spring 2022 Schedule (Anthony Villarreal, Flex Committee Chair)

Meeting adjourned at: 4:22 pm