Academic Senate Regular Meeting Minutes

via Zoom October 21, 2021 2:30-4:30pm

Committee Attendance			
~	Abeje Ambaw, Life Sciences	~	Jacque Evans, Access Resource Center
~	Adria Gerard, President	/	Jeannie Kim-McPherson, Humanities
~	Alan Durst, Creative Arts	>	Jennifer Taylor, Resource
	Blake Spiering, Kinesiology		John Cristobal, Physical Sciences
~	Dawn Rae Davis, Social Science	>	Kacey Giammanco, At-Large
~	Elizabeth Gonzales, Student Services	>	Lynn Kragelund, Nursing
•	Frank Rivera, At-Large, Vice President, ASCCC Representative	>	Molly Jansen, Career Education, Committees Chair
~	Glenn Tozier, Library	>	Sunny LeMoine, At-Large Adjunct
~	Heather Bowers, TRIO		VACANT, ASMPC Student Representative
~	Jackson Hsu, At-Large, Secretary		
Guests			
~	David Betts, CHRO	>	Francisco de Borja Dorsch, faculty
~	David Martin, President/Superintendent	>	Jon Knolle, VPAA
~	Erin Gamble, faculty		

Academic Senate Annual Goals 2021-22

- I. Opening Business
 - A. Welcome and Introductions
 - B. Public Comments
 - C. Approval of Minutes: October 7, 2021
 - Accepted without revision.
 - D. Approval of the Agenda
 - Agenda accepted without revision.
 - E. Reports
 - Superintendent/President (David Martin)
 - Academic Senate President (Adria Gerard)
 - Jeannie Kim-McPherson is now the Humanities Representative.
 - ASCCC Representative (Frank Rivera)
- II. Unfinished Business
 - A. ACTION: Academic Senate Resolution in Support of English/Spanish Bilingual Students and Bilingual Education at MPC (Borja Dorsch, Spanish Department Chair; Adria Gerard, Academic Senate President; Jackson Hsu, Academic Senate Secretary) Goal 1
 - Academic Senate Resolution in Support of English/Spanish Bilingual Students and Bilingual Education at MPC (comment copy)
 - Academic Senate Resolution in Support of English/Spanish Bilingual Students and Bilingual Education at MPC (pdf)
 - Presentation from 9/16/21
 - Motion to approve: Molly Jansen
 - Second: Dawn Rae Davis

Academic Senate Regular Meeting Minutes

• Vote: Approved

- Yeas: Lynn Kragelund, Glenn Tozier, Jeannie Kim-McPherson, Molly Jansen, Jackson Hsu, Elizabeth Gonzales, Jacque Evans, Heather Bowers, Kacey Giammanco, Sunny LeMoine, Abeje Ambaw, Alan Durst, Dawn Rae Davis, Frank Rivera
- Naes: N/A
- Absent: Blake Spiering, John Cristobal

III. New Business

- A. INFORMATION: ACCJC Institutional Self Evaluation Report (ISER) Update (Jon Knolle, VP of Academic Affairs)
- B. INFORMATION: Teaching and Learning Committee Update (Adria Gerard, Academic Senate President) *Goal 4*
- C. INFORMATION: 2021-22 Faculty Position Prioritization Results (Jon Knolle, VP of Academic Affairs) Goal 2