Academic Senate Regular Meeting Minutes

via Zoom September 2, 2021 2:30-4:30pm

Committee Attendance			
~	Abeje Ambaw, Life Sciences	>	Molly Jansen, Career Education, Committees Chair
~	Heather Bowers, TRIO	>	Lynn Kragelund, Nursing
~	John Cristobal, Physical Sciences	>	Sunny LeMoine, At-Large Adjunct
~	Dawn Rae Davis, Social Science	>	Frank Rivera, At-Large, Vice President, ASCCC Rep
~	Alan Durst, Creative Arts		Blake Spiering, Kinesiology
~	Jacque Evans, Access Resource Center	5	Jennifer Taylor, Resource
~	Adria Gerard, Humanities, President	>	Glenn Tozier, Library
~	Elizabeth Gonzales, Student Services		VACANT, At-Large
~	Jackson Hsu, At-Large, Secretary		VACANT, ASMPC Student Representative
Guests			
~	Diane Boynton, Dean of Instruction - Liberal Arts	2	Rosaleen Ryan, Interim Dean of PRIE
~	Linda Hucks, Director of TASC	~	Kayla Valentine, Interim CHRO
~	Jon Knolle, VPAA	~	Larry Walker, VPSS

- I. Opening Business
 - A. Welcome and Introductions
 - B. Public Comments
 - C. Approval of Minutes: August 19, 2021
 - Minutes: Approved without revision
 - D. Approval of the Agenda
 - Agenda: Approved without revision
 - E. Reports
 - Superintendent/President (David Martin)
 - Academic Senate President (Adria Gerard)
 - Committees Chair (Molly Jansen, Committees Chair)
 - Committee vacancies:

•

- SSAG, 1 vacancy non-Student Services faculty preferred
 - Academic Senate, 1 at-large vacancy
 - Recommended: Kacey Giammanco
 - PRIEC, 3 vacancies 1 must be Student Services faculty
 - Recommended: Lindsay Peelman (reaffirm), Luke Spence
 - PAG, 1 vacancy
 - Recommended: Susan Boes
 - Facilities Committee, 1 vacancy
 - Recommended: Alan Durst
 - Hiring Committee Dean of Student Services, MEC, 2 vacancies
 - Recommended: Jihan Neda Ejan, Kacey Giammanco, Lindsay Peelman
 - Hiring Committee Dean of Student Services, Student Support services, 2 vacancies

Academic Senate Regular Meeting Minutes

- Recommended: Jacque Evans, Jaye Luke
- Motion to approve the CoC's recommendations for committee membership: Frank Rivera
- Second: Sunny LeMoine
- Vote: Approved
 - Yeas: Abeje Ambaw, Alan Durst, Dawn Rae Davis, Frank Rivera, Lynn Kragelund, Glenn Tozier, Adria Gerard, Molly Jansen, Jackson Hsu, Elizabeth Gonzales, Jacque Evans, Heather Bowers, Sunny LeMoine
 - Naes: N/A
 - Not present: Blake
 - Abstentions: John Cristobal
- II. Unfinished Business
 - A. 2ND READ: Academic Senate Resolution in Support of Black/African American Students and Colleagues at MPC (Adria Gerard, Academic Senate President)
 - B. 1ST READ: Academic Senate Annual Goals 2021-22 (Adria Gerard, Academic Senate President)
 - Academic Senate Annual Goals 2020-21
 - DRAFT Academic Senate Annual Goals 2021-22
 - C. 1ST READ: MPC Academic Senate Bylaws Revisions for 2021-22 (Adria Gerard, Academic Senate President)
 - Current MPC Academic Senate Bylaws (Revised September 2020)
 - DRAFT REVISED MPC Academic Senate Bylaws

III. New Business

- A. 1ST READ: 2021-22 Academic Calendar Updates (Jon Knolle, VP of Academic Affairs)
 - REVISED DRAFT 2021-22 Academic Calendar
 - Motion to approve: Frank
 - Second: Lynn Kragelund
 - Vote: Approved
 - Yea: Abeje Ambaw, Alan Durst, Dawn Rae Davis, Frank Rivera, Lynn Kragelund, Glenn Tozier, Adria Gerard, Molly Jansen, Jackson Hsu, Elizabeth Gonzales, Jacque Evans, Heather Bowers, Sunny LeMoine
 - Nae: N/A
 - Not present: John Cristobal, Blake Spiering
- B. 1ST READ: Institutional Self Evaluation Report (ISER) (Jon Knolle, VP of Academic Affairs)
 - DRAFT Timeline and Process
 - DRAFT ISER Team Structure