Academic Senate Regular Meeting Minutes

via Zoom February 4, 2021 2:30-4:30pm

Committee Attendance			
~	Abeje Ambaw, Life Sciences	~	Jackson Hsu, At-Large
~	Heather Bowers, TRIO	~	Molly Jansen, Business/Technology, COC Chair
~	John Cristobal, Physical Sciences	~	Lynn Kragelund, Nursing
~	Dawn Rae Davis, Social Science	~	Sunny LeMoine, At-Large Adjunct
~	Alan Durst, Creative Arts	~	Frank Rivera, At-Large, Vice President
~	Jacque Evans, Access Resource Center	<	Blake Spiering, Kinesiology
~	Kelly Fletes, At-Large	<	Jennifer Taylor, Resource
~	Adria Gerard, Humanities, President	<	Marshall Thompson, ASMPC Student Representative
~	Elizabeth Gonzales, Student Services	~	Glenn Tozier, Library, Secretary
Guests			
~	Jeff Sundquist, Interim Dean of the Library, Learning Resources, and Online Education	~	Kayla Valentine, Acting Director of Human Resources
~	Heather Craig, Faculty	2	David Martin, President/Superintendent
~	Gamble Madsen, Faculty, CAC Chair	~	Jeannie Kim, Faculty, Co-chair of Guided Pathways Initiative
~	Jon Knolle, Acting Vice President of Academic Affairs	~	Yuri Anderson, President of MPC's Board of Trustees

Presentation

Academic Senate Annual Goals 2020-21

I. Opening Business

- A. Public Comments
- B. Welcome and Introductions
- C. Approval of Minutes: December 3, 2020

Minutes accepted without revisions.

D. Reports

Superintendent/President (David Martin)

<u>Topics</u>

Academic Senate President (Adria Gerard)

Areas with representatives up for election/re-election:

- Life Science
- Creative Arts

Academic Senate Regular Meeting Minutes

- Social Sciences
- Kinesiology
- At-Large

Committees (Molly Jansen)

Committee membership updates:

LGBTQIA+, Gender, and Racial/Ethnic Diversity Advocacy Committee: Merry Dennehy

Massage Therapy Program Revitalization/Discontinuance Committee:

- Daniel Phillips: Chair
- Erin O'Hare: CAC and non-discipline faculty representative
- Paul Tuff: Discipline faculty representative
- Jordan Fasheh: Counseling representative
- Dawn Rae Davis: Senate and non-discipline faculty representative

Motion to approve committee membership: Frank Rivera

Second: Molly Jansen

Vote: Approved

IDEA Task Force (Dawn Rae Davis and Kelly Fletes) Goal 1

II. Unfinished Business

A. PT Faculty Hiring Procedure (Jon Knolle, VP Academic Affairs) Goal 2

2ND READ/APPROVAL

Motion to approve the PT Faculty Hiring Procedure: Molly Jansen

Second: Dawn Rae Davis

Vote: Approved

B. Administrative Procedures (Jon Knolle, VP Academic Affairs)

2ND READ/APPROVAL: AP 4021: Academic Program Revitalization or Discontinuance

Motion to approve AP 4021: Frank Rivera

Second: Lynn Kragelund

Vote: Approved

2ND READ/APPROVAL: AP 4022: Course Approval

Vote tabled for a future meeting

Academic Senate Regular Meeting Minutes

2ND READ/APPROVAL: AP 4023: Academic Program Development and Approval

Motion to approve AP 4023: Dawn Rae Davis

Second: Jacque Evans

Vote: Approved

III. New Business

A. DISCUSSION: Use of Cameras for Instruction (Jeffery Sundquist, Dean of Online Education, Library, and Learning Support) Goal 7

OEC will draft the policy and bring it to the Senate.

B. INFORMATION: GP/AS Work Teams Implementation (Jeannie Kim-McPherson, Guided Pathways Faculty Coordinator) Goal 5 - Removed from Agenda

C. 1ST READ: <u>Guided Pathways SOAA--Scale of Adoption Self-Assessment</u> (Jeannie Kim-McPherson, Guided Pathways Faculty Coordinator) Goal 5

SOAA reviewed. Academic Senate will provide feedback in anticipation of next meeting/approval